Eat This: Bread from Bien Cuit

December 4, 2012 at 11:42 am 1 comment

Bien Cuit, Brooklyn, NY

Bien Cuit, a bakery that opened its doors this summer in Boerum/Cobble Hill, is everything a good bakery should be. Pre-opening buzz was intense; baker/owner Zachary Golper had worked everywhere from Philadelphia to Provence, cultivating his bread-making expertise. The shops sells a variety of breads and pastries, as well as premium coffee.

Bien Cuit, Brooklyn, NY

On a recent visit, I stood in front of the pastry case for a good ten minutes before deciding I needed something hearty and savory for breakfast. I was soon face-to-face with a beautiful lamb bacon frittata perched on a gorgeous brioche roll slathered with tarragon mayonnaise. It was all I could do not to wolf it down, as I tried to savor the bits of bacon and fluffy brioche.

The chocolate chip shortbread is the diamond-shaped cookie at the top. Photo courtesy of Bien Cuit's website.

The chocolate chip shortbread is the diamond-shaped cookie at the top center. Photo courtesy of Bien Cuit’s website.

Next time, I heeded the siren call of the $1 chocolate chip shortbread cookie. Honestly, at such a small price tag I wasn’t expecting much, but my god, this is no ordinary shortbread and graciously underpriced. Crispy, buttery, chocolaty, what more could you ask for?

Bien Cuit, Brooklyn, NY

I also brought home a half-loaf of the miche, Bien Cuit’s spin on sourdough. Again, this is no ordinary sourdough, using a combination of rye and wheat flour and left to ferment for a record-breaking 68-hours. My husband and I agreed this was the best bread we had ever tasted and the giant half-disc barely made it through the night.

Just reading their menu makes me drool; I can’t wait to go back for another sampling.

Bien Cuit, Brooklyn, NY

Entry filed under: Bakery, DevoLT, Eat This, Toast. Tags: , , , , .

Eat This: The Perfect Croissant?

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Lawerence  |  October 1, 2014 at 4:08 am

    What’s up colleagues, its wonderful paragraph about cultureand
    completely defined, keep it up all the time.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other subscribers

Like us on Facebook!

Like this at Facebook!

Contact Us

toastandjamsblog@gmail.com