JudyJams’ Top 10 albums of 2010

December 18, 2010 at 1:34 pm Leave a comment

Top 10 of the ’10! I have wanted to say that for years. Picking my top 10 of the year is always a fun challenge, but this year it was especially hard because there was a lot to choose from. Plus, I try to wait it out until mid-December to give myself the most amount of time with everything that comes out later in the year. Here are my top choices, in no particular order:

10. GlasserRing

Album artwork for Ring via Popwreckoning.com

I’ve praised this album on the blog before, so no need to go on and on. The album artwork is fantastic and check out her site for music and fun videos.

9. The Black KeysBrothers

Brothers album artwork via Amazon.com

I know that I am late in the game, but this is the album that convinced that I should be in love with The Black Keys. If you haven’t heard yet, you are missing out.

8. Future IslandsIn the Evening Air

Album artwork for In the Evening Air via ThrillJockey.com

 

 

I’ve been psyched on this album since it came out, and it hasn’t died down for me. This wasn’t a huge hit for everyone, but I find their particular style quite appealing. Check out their blog for some funny photos, and click here to hear music.

7. Big BoiSir Lucious Left Foot…The Son of Chico Dusty

Big Boi album artwork via Billboard.com

 

This album blew my mind: Big Boi still has it. Was there actually any doubt? This album makes me forget that OutKast doesn’t exist.

6. The DrumsThe Drums

The Drums album artwork via Amazon.com

These guys rocked my world at CMJ, and if I wasn’t hooked on their album before I saw them live, I certainly was afterwards. It was a close call with Surfer Blood’s Astrocoast, but these guys stole my heart.

5. Beach HouseTeen Dream

Aside from their bizarre music videos, Beach House is a stellar example of modern, fresh indie rock. It took me awhile, as with The Black Keys, to fall in love, but when I did, I fell hard. This whole record is fantastic.

4. Kanye West- My Beautiful Dark Twisted Fantasy

There is probably nothing left to say about this album that hasn’t been said. Just watch the video (feature film!!!) and enjoy the madness.

3. TOBACCOManiac Meat

Another great album, with wonderfully weird music videos. But then again, we wouldn’t love Tobacco if they weren’t totally absurd. This album makes me happy. I can’t explain why. It’s just that good.

2. Das RacistSit Down, Man

I’ve been a champion of this album since the beginning, and you’ve heard me blab about it here before. One of the most interesting records of the year, hands down. I couldn’t find any actual videos, but this song is so good perhaps it doesn’t even need a video? You decide.

1. The ThermalsPersonal Life

Definitely one of my favorite music videos from the year, but that might just be because I’m a serious Sleater-Kinney lover. This was yet another album that made me reconsider the artist’s back catalogue; turns out I’ve always loved them but just never knew. This album is intelligent and intensely catchy.

In no particular order, because I just can’t make up my mind about which I like the best. Check after the jump for my honorable mentions.

These were more of my favorite records, but they just didn’t make it to the top ten:

Cee Lo GreenThe Ladykiller

Toro Y MoiCausers of This

Four TetThere is Love in You

LCD SoundsystemThis is Happening

Janelle MonaeThe ArchAndroid

Entry filed under: Bands We Like, Jams, JudyJams. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Best Brunches of 2010 Eat This: Pumpkin Yogurt and Pumpkin Pie Custard from White Cow Dairy

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 10 other followers

Like us on Facebook!

Like this at Facebook!

Contact Us

toastandjamsblog@gmail.com

