Eat This: White Cow Dairy Yogurts

December 13, 2010 at 4:45 pm 2 comments

Yogurt is my during-the-week daily breakfast. I throw it in my bag and eat it when I get to work at my desk. However, I am very picky about my yogurt. I do not like fruit on the bottom, or big chunks of fruit in my yogurt. I also love the cream on the top of full fat yogurts; I hate the aspertame-y taste of low fat or non-fat yogurts. I like my yogurt creamy, but not too thick–I had a brief affair with Fage Greek yogurts before I decided they were too thick. My usual go-to is Brown Cow, in the vanilla, maple, or coffee flavor.

Brown Cow maple yogurt, courtesy of http://www.browncow.com

However, I recently saw an interesting post on Serious Eats about White Cow Dairy, extolling their custard and pumpkin yogurt. I am a total sucker for anything pumpkin, as well as cute packaging, so I knew I had to try their pumpkin yogurt in the adorable little jar. White Cow Dairy is located in East Otto, NY, and their products are sold in many places in upstate and Western New York state, but here in the city it’s only sold at Murray’s Cheese for $2.99 a jar. I header over to their Grand Central location twice, and both times they didn’t have the pumpkin flavor–perhaps it’s seasonal and I missed the boat? I’ll keep trying for that, but in the meantime I managed to sample quite a number of their other flavors.

Rhubarb and cherry yogurts from White Cow Dairy

White Cow Dairy rhubarb yogurt

I started with their rhubarb yogurt because I’ve never seen rhubarb yogurt before and the cashier assured me it was delicious. She was right. First of all, all of their yogurts are nice and thick–but not too thick–and have a pleasant tangy background taste that all fresh yogurts should have. The rhubarb flavor was tart, but had notes of cinnamon and nutmeg, as well as maple. The rhubarb pieces were cut up teeny tiny and distributed throughout–just the way I like it!

White Cow Dairy cherry yogurt

 

Next up was cherry, which was made from sour cherries. I could taste the sourness of the cherries, but there was a light sweetness as well to complement the tartness of the cherries, which were also chopped up into tiny pieces and distributed throughout.

White Cow Dairy maple and gingerberry yogurts

White Cow Dairy Gingerberery yogurt

My final fruit yogurt was gingerberry, which consisted of blueberries, maple sugar, ginger, and cinnamon. The ginger was a nice addition to the usual blueberry flavor, giving it some bite. It was also such a beautiful color!

I also, of course, had to sample the maple yogurt, and compare it to Brown Cow’s. It was super thick and creamy, more so than the fruit yogurts. Not surprisingly, it was not as sweet as other maple yogurts, relying more on the actual tangy yogurt flavor. Yum!

White Cow Dairy custard

My one disappointment from White Cow Dairy was their custard. I was actually super excited about it, especially when I noticed the clusters of vanilla bean on the bottom of the jar.

Check out all those vanilla beans on the bottom

But alas, it was way too eggy for me. Although there was clearly a lot of vanilla, along with nutmeg, maple, and a bit of sea salt, I could barely taste any of that due to the strong egg flavor. The consistency was also clumpy and not smooth like all their yogurts. About halfway down I was able to mix it up and get more of the vanilla flavor, but sadly I probably would not buy it again.

If anyone spies the pumpkin yogurt lurking at Murray’s Cheese, give me a holler (or if you want to be super nice, buy it for me!) because after eating all their other yogurts I can only imagine how spectacular it is.

Entry filed under: Breakfast News, DevoLT, Eat This, Toast. Tags: , , , , , , , , .

Updated: Jens Lekman Played to 400 People in Brooklyn Best Brunches of 2010

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 12 other followers

Like us on Facebook!

Like this at Facebook!

Contact Us

toastandjamsblog@gmail.com

