Eat This: Bluegrass Brunch at Threadgill’s in Austin, TX

October 4, 2010 at 12:42 pm 4 comments

Austin, TX is one of my favorite cities in the US, and I am lucky enough to have several close, wonderful friends living there who love showing me around. Not just showing me around, but taking me to the best places to eat whenever I’m there. It’s practically impossible for me to leave the state of TX without eating a delicious taco (from Torchy’s or my newest favorite, breakfast tacos from Taco Deli). Another mandatory food item to eat while there: biscuits. Which brings me to the delicious brunch Lindsarella and I had at Threadgill’s a few weeks ago.

 

Threadgill's menu

 

Threadgill’s has two locations, one in North Austin and one in South Austin. We went to the one in the North. It’s a very large place, and the decor is authentic but not too over-the-top.

 

Interior of the main dining room at Threadgill's North

 

Every Sunday, Threadgill’s hosts bluegrass brunch, with live music and a breakfast buffet. The music was top-notch, but unfortunately we were seated in the way back and couldn’t really see or hear the band, which was the father-daughter duo of Hank & Shaidri Alrich. I did get a good shot of them, though:

 

Bluegrass duo at Threadgill's

 

That guy had a great Willie Nelson thing going on (Willie himself is an Austin resident!). Now, onto the best part: the biscuits! And yes, there were some other food items as well.

 

A tasty menagerie of home-cooked breakfast items.

 

We all chose the breakfast buffet option, and there were an abundance of good home-cooked food items to taste. The migas, cheesy grits (I was happy to try real Texan grits after the delightful grits experience from the summer) and the sweet potato pancakes were a highlight, but there was also french toast, potatoes, sausages, bacon, fruit… I could go on!

 

A varied plate.

 

Threadgill’s also had two different types of gravy, meat and meatless, which was appreciated by us veggies. All in all, a very good meal; and the biscuits were phenomenal. A recommended stop for those visiting Austin. More pictures of happy folks enjoying the meal below!

 

Brent is happy about brunch, and life.

 

 

Biscuit addict

 

 

Ophelia wants more biscuits, please.

 

Entry filed under: Breakfast News, Eat This, JudyJams, Lindsarella, Restaurant Review, Restaurants We Like. Tags: .

JudyJams picks #9, September 2010: El Guincho, Das Racist, New Foals video Pavement’s Still Got It

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Hallie Noves  |  October 4, 2010 at 3:57 pm

    Yum! Your pics are making me hungry and now I totally want to eat breakfast. All day.

    Reply
  • 2. Sarah Graham  |  October 4, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    I wish I could be eating biscuits again RIGHT NOW!!! Judy come visit us again soon!

    Reply
  • 3. bet365 italia  |  October 6, 2010 at 1:30 am

    hello!This was a really marvelous website!
    I come from milan, I was fortunate to find your subject in digg
    Also I get much in your topic really thanks very much i will come every day

    Reply
  • 4. hank alrich  |  June 14, 2011 at 12:34 pm

    Nice review, and thank you! I, too, enjoy those bluegrass brunches, both the music and the eatin’. Sorry you couldn’t hear us well. Looks like you were seated in the Diner area, which is my favorite eating spot at Threadgill’s Old No. 1.

    Anybody who wants to know more about our music can find us at hankalrich.com.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 11 other followers

Like us on Facebook!

Like this at Facebook!

Contact Us

toastandjamsblog@gmail.com

